Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry included in ODI squad for Chappell-Hadlee Trophy

New Zealand have announced their limited-overs squad for the upcoming Chappell-Hadlee Trophy. Premier pace trio of Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry have been named in the squad for three-match one-day series that is slated to begin from 13th March in Sydney.

Due to hand injury sustained in Australia during the Test series, Boult missed the one-day series against India played at home.  Left-arm pacer made a splendid comeback for New Zealand in Test cricket and was instrumental in helping the side complete a 2-0 clean sweep over India. Matt Henry suffered from a broken thumb and missed the one-day series against India.

Lockie Ferguson has not played for New Zealand since being ruled out of the Australian tour last year. Since recovering from injuries, Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson have played competitive cricket and will be certainly bolster the bowling resources for New Zealand for this one-day series. Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson are the other pace options for New Zealand for Chappell-Hadlee Trophy

All-rounder Scott Kuggeleijn and pacer Hamish Bennett have been dropped, while Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi are two-spin options for New Zealand.

New Zealand Head Coach, Gary Stead said that the limited-overs side has a good blend of youth and experience players. New Zealand Captain Kane Williamson will be hoping that  the side can get off to a good start in this Chappell Hadlee Trophy.

Last time, New Zealand won the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy played in New Zealand and managed to win three-match series by 2-0 margin.

2019 World Cup Finalists have shown excellent form in white-ball cricket and managed to complete a clean sweep over India in the three-match one-day series.

ODI Squad for Chappell Hadlee Trophy : Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill Tom Latham, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.