Uncapped all-rounder Cameron Green included as Australia announce ODI and T20I squads for India series

All-rounder Cameron Green has earned his maiden call-up to Australia’s 18-man squad for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against India. Cricket Australia made the announcement on Thursday as Moises Henriques has made a comeback to the national side, whereas Mitchell Marsh has been ruled out of the home series due to injury.

Andrew Tye, wicket-keeper Josh Phillipe, spinner Nathan Lyon and Riley Meredith are players that have been dropped from the squad.

Australia’s National Selector, Trevor Hohns said that the entire Australian squad performed well on their last trip to the UK. The side managed to beat World Champions in a three-match one-day series played in England. Despite losing the three-match T20I series against England in summer, Australia has managed to retain their top spot according to the latest ICC T20 Team Rankings.

Cameron Green has made nine appearances for Western Australia in List A cricket. He has also played 13 T20I games for Perth Scorchers. The 21-year old has made quite an impressive with the bat in the domestic circuit. Recently, Green smashed 197 runs in the ongoing game played in Sheffield Shield season.

With the ball in hand, Cameron Green is averaging 22.53 with two five wicket hauls to his name in the 19 first-class matches played for Western Australia. Due to his outstanding performances for Western Australia, Cameron Green richly deserves his maiden call-up to the national side for  the upcoming home series against India.

Former Australia Captain Greg Chappell also appreciated the talent that Cameron Green has to offer to the national side. Chappell stated that Green must be included in the Test squad as he has the ability to deliver the goods with the bat and ball.

All-rounder Moises Henriques, who comes in place of injured Mitchell Marsh, last played for Australia in 2017. He was instrumental in helping Sydney Sixers clinch Big Bash League last year.

Injured Mitchell Marsh will have to play for Australia A in order to prove his fitness to selectors. He suffered from ankle injury while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League.

Host Australia will start their home season with a three-match one-day series against India that is scheduled to start from 27th November. The three-match T20I series between Australia and India will begin from 4th December.

Australia’s squad for home series against India : Aaron Finch (captain), Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Marnus Labuschagne, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.