Uncapped Daryn Dupavillon, Ottniel Baartman included in South Africa Test squad for Pakistan tour

South Africa have announced their squad for the upcoming tour of Pakistan. Uncapped pacers Ottniel Baartman and Daryn Dupavillion have earned their maiden call-ups for the Test series in Pakistan. Spearhead Kagiso Rabada ha fully recovered from groin strain and will lead the bowling attack for South Africa in the two-match Test series against Pakistan.

After 14 years, South Africa will be touring Pakistan for two-match Test series followed three-match T20I series. Last year, Daryn Dupavillion made his limited-overs debut for South Africa in the one-day game played against Australia at Potchefstroom. He claimed prized wicket of Aaron Finch in that good and bowled economically. On the other hand Ottniel Baartman  has done consistently well in the first-class cricket over the past couple of year.

South Africa will be confident for this tour after completing a clean sweep over Sri Lanka in the two-match Test series. In the first Test at Centurion, South Africa thrashed Sri Lanka by an innings and 45 runs, while in the second game at Johannesburg, they steamrolled Islanders by ten wickets.

The selectors have included spin duo of Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde for this series. Keshav Maharaj still remains the premier spinner for South Africa in red-ball cricket.

Shaun von Berg and Senuran Muthusamy, who both did exceedingly well in this year’s first-class four day competition were unlucky and overlooked by the selectors for Pakistan series.

CSA selector convenor, Victor Mpitsang said that the selection has been done based on the conditions that will be prevalent in Pakistan.

Bowling all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius, who also was suffering from hamstring strain has recovered from injury and has been included in the squad. Raynard Van Tonder, Migael Pretorius and Glenton Stuurman were all injured and not selected for this tour.

Tabraiz Shamsi and Ottniel Baartman, who were not part of the Test squad for Sri Lanka series, were selected on the basis of their performances produced in the first-class four-day competition.

South Africa will leave for Pakistan in a week’s time and will follow mandatory procedures in Karachi before resuming their practice sessions for preparing for the two-match Test series. The opening game of the Test series will be played on 26th January. The second and final Test will be staged in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. The culmination of two-match Test series will see South Africa lock horns with Pakistan in a three-match T20I series.

South Africa squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Ottniel Baartman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *