Uncapped Hasan Mehmud, Yasir Ali included in Bangladesh squad for one-off Test against Zimbabwe

Experienced wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim has been named in the Bangladesh Test squad for the one-off game against Zimbabwe. Rahim, who did not travel to Pakistan due to security issues, is part of 16-member squad announced by Bangladesh Cricket Board on 16th February.

There were a lot of question marks raised when Bangladesh Chief selector Minhajul Abedin stated that Bangladesh will retain the same squad that was picked for the first Test against Pakistan. Bangladesh Head Coach Russell Domingo said that Rahim is one of most important players in the batting lineup.

All-rounder Mahmudullah Riyad has been dropped from the Test side following string of low scores in red-ball cricket. In last 10 innings, Mahmudullah score only register one half-century. His best of 67 runs came against New Zealand in Wellington in March 2019.

Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman have been included in the Test squad for the one-off game. Middle-order batsman Yasir Ali and medium-pacer Hasan Mahmud have earned their maiden call-up to the Test squad.

Bangladesh Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin said that Hasan Mahmud and Yasir Ali have shown excellent form in the domestic season and have the potential to have a long career for Bangladesh. Mustafizur Rahman, who was not considered for Pakistan series, has made his return to the side for this one-off game. Head Coach Russell Domingo stated that the Mustafizur need to work on his game to produce better results in red-ball cricket.

Zimbabwe will lock horns with Bangladesh in the one-off Test at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka from 22nd February. The side will also play three one-day internationals and two T20Is from 1st March.

Bangladesh Squad for one-off Test: Mominul Haque (captain), Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Nayeem Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Ebadat Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Yasir Ali.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.