Uncapped pacer Marco Jansen in South Africa’s ODI squad for India series

Uncapped pacer Marco Jansen has earned his maiden call-up to South Africa’s ODI squad for the three-match series against India. He will replace Anrich Nortje in the ODI squad, who has been ruled out of the series due to injury.

Earlier, Marco Jansen made his Test debut for South Africa against India at SuperSport Park in Centurion.  Temba Bavuma will lead the side for the three-match ODI series against India. Left-arm orthodox spinner Keshav Maharaj will act as deputy to Bavuma for this ODI series.

Bowling all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius makes his comeback to the ODI squad. Earlier this year, Dwaine Pretorius put in impressive performances with the ball for South Africa in the ICC T20 World Cup played in the UAE and Oman.

Left-arm pacer Wayne Parnell has retained his place in the ODI squad after being called up to the national side for Netherlands series. Zubayr Hamza also managed to keep his place in the squad after making his ODI debut for South Africa against Netherlands.

Cricket South Africa Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said that the selection committee has decided to bring in new players for the limited-overs series against India. For many players, it will be a big occasion as South Africa lock horns with a formidable Indian team led by Lokesh Rahul. With Temba Bavuma as captain and Mark Boucher as coach, the objective is to create a pool of players for the upcoming ICC World Cup.

It will be interesting to see how South Africa fares against a strong Indian team.

South Africa ODI’s Squad for India : Temba Bavuma (captain), Keshav Maharaj (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Aiden Markram, Kagiso Rabada,  Lungi Ngidi, Dwaine Pretorius, Rassie van der Dussen, Janneman Malan, Kyle Verreynne, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Sisanda Magala, Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.