Uncapped Prithvi Shaw and Hanuma Vihari included in India’sTest squad for remaining two games of England series

India have announced their 18-member squad for the remaining two games of the series against England. Opener Murali Vijay has been dropped from the side following his string of low scores in the games played against England. Left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav, who was India’s go-to man in the one-day series has been dropped from the squad.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is also unavailable for selection as he is yet to regain full fitness. Rookie Opener Prithvi Shaw has been selected due to impressive returns in the first-class cricket. He averages 56 in five-day cricket with seven centuries to his name. He has been produced commendable performances for India A as well.

Prithvi Shaw will be keen to make an impression given his maiden call-up to the Indian Test squad. Shikhar Dhawan and Lokesh Rahul are going to remain first-choice openers for the side given India’s triumph at Nottingham. The duo showed application and composure to get India off to decent starts at Trent Bridge.

Hanuma Vihari is another surprise inclusion into the Test squad. He has done well for India and smashed a blistering 148 against South Africa this month. He is a middle-order player and will be keen to bring into the Indian Test side that has not done that well. Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara have not that well during this series. Vihari also has impressive numbers in first-class cricket and averages close to 60 in 63 matches with 15 centuries to his name.

Kuldeep Yadav was dropped as Ravindra Jadeja is the second spinner in the squad. The conditions have been favorable to pacers than spinners. Jadeja will be hoping to play some part in the series given Ravichandran Ashwin injury scare before the fourth Test at Southampton.

Full squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Karun Nair, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Cheteshwar Pujara, Lokesh Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Shikhar Dhawan, Shardul Thakur, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Jaspreet Bumrah, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *