Uncapped Shubham Gill included in India’s Test squad for South Africa series

Uncapped batsman Shubman Gill has been included in India’s Test squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against South Africa. BCCI announced the 15-man squad on Thursday as Lokesh Rahul has been dropped from the squad after not scoring runs in the previous two-match Test series played in the Caribbean.

Selection committee chairman MSK Prasad said that Rohit Sharma is all set to open the innings for India in the upcoming Test series against South Africa.

Lokesh Rahul did not produce runs for the side at the top of the innings since his majestic hundred against England at The Oval in 2018. Since then, he has failed to make an impact with the bat in the five-day format for India.

Shubham Gill was the standout performer for India A in the unofficial Tests played against South Africa A. Gill accumulated 187 runs in 4 innings at an average of 46.75 with two half-centuries to his name. Last year, Shubham Gill made his limited-overs cricket debut for India against New Zealand.

Uncapped batsman Shubham Gill has been included in India’s Test squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa.

Pace bowler Jaspreet Bumrah has been ruled out of the home series due to a stress fracture. Umesh Yadav has come in as a last-minute replacement for Bumrah in the Test squad. Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami will be two frontline pacers for the side for this series.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav and Ravendra Jadeja are prominent spinners included in the squad for the home series. Wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha has been named as reserve wicket-keeper for the series in case something happens to Rishabh Pant.

Rohit Sharma will be the captain of Board President’s XI for the upcoming warm-up game against South Africa will be played in Vizianagaram from 26th to 28th September. Priyank Panchal, Karun Nair, Siddhesh Lad and Shardul Thakur will all play for Board President’s XI.

The opening game of the Gandhi-Mandela Trophy will be played at Visakhapatnam from 2nd October. The second Test will be played at Pune while third and final game will be played at Ranchi on 19th October.

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper),  Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill

Board President’s XI squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Mayank Agarwal, Avesh Khan, Ishan Porel, Priyank Panchal, AR Easwaran, Karun Nair, Jalaj Saxena, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, , Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *