West Indies announce ODI squad for Bangladesh series

West Indies Cricket Board have named their 15-member squad for the upcoming one-day series against Bangladesh. Darren Bravo makes a return to the limited-overs side for the series. The left-handed batsman last played for West Indies in October 2016.

All-rounder Rovman Powell has been named the captain of the side for the upcoming three-match one-day series that starts from 9th December. All-rounder Jason Holder will miss the one-day series due to an injury. The selectors have decided to for Powell as skipper of the side. The likes of Shai Hope, Roston Chase, and Carlos Brathwaite were overlooked for the role of captaincy.

Rovman Powell has played 31 one-day games and averages 26.16 with the bat. He has scored a century in the format. Powell did not do well in the five matches one-day series against India. He could only manage 61 runs from five matches.

Darren Bravo made his return to the national side for the three-match T20I series against India. He has not played too much limited-overs cricket over the last two years. West Indies chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne said that the inclusion of Darren Bravo was much needed to bolster the batting resources for the three-match one-day series against Bangladesh. The side will miss the services of Jason Holder, who has been excellent with bat and ball in limited-overs cricket.

Hosts Bangladesh completed a clean sweep in the Test series against West Indies. The opening game of the series will be played in Mirpur and the next game will be played on 11th December on the same venue. The third and final game will be played in Sylhet on 14th December.

West Indies ODI squad: Rovman Powell (captain), Marlon Samuels, Roston Chase, Devendra Bishoo, Shai Hope, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Fabien Allen, Kemar Roach, Sunil Ambris, Oshane Thomas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *